[Ethiopia] Agricultural Sample Survey 2010/2011 (2003 E.C.) (September - December 2010) Volume I, Report on Area and Production of Major Crops (Private Peasant Holdings, Meher Season)

Cover Ethiopia 2010/2011 Vol 1


Statistical Bulletin, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia: Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, Central Statistical Agency, (April 2011)

Downloadable File: 


The range of data items that the 2010/11 (2003 E.C.) Annual Agricultural Sample Survey (Meher Season) dealt with includes all cereals, pulses and oilseeds and the most commonly grown vegetables, root crops and permanent (perennial) crops. Holders growing at least one or more of these and / or other crops are enumerated and data on crop area and yield condition recorded, hence data on production of these crops acquired. The 2010/11 (2003 E.C.) Annual Agricultural Sample Survey (Meher season) covered the entire rural parts of the country except the non-sedentary population of three zones of Afar & six zones of Somali regions.


  • Area, Production and Yield of Crops for Private Peasant Holdings
  • Estimation Procedures of Totals, Ratios and Sampling Errors
  • Estimate of Holders, Area, Production, Standard Errors and Coefficient of Variations for Crops

Crops: Teff, Barley, Wheat, Maize, Sorghum, Finger Millet, Oats/Aja, Rice, Faba Beans, Field Peas, Haricot Beans, Chick-peas, Lentils, Vetch, Soya Beans, Fenugreek, Gibto, Neug, Linseed, Groundnuts, Sunflower, Sesame, Rapeseed, Lettuce, Head Cabbage, Ethiopian Cabbage, Tomatoes, Green Peppers, Red Peppers, Swiss Chard, Beetroot, Carrot, Onion, Potatoes, Garlic, Taro/Godere, Sweet Potatoes, Avocados, Bananas, Guavas, Lemons, Mangoes, Oranges, Papayas, Pineapples, Chat, Coffee, Hops, Sugar Cane, Enset

Regions: Ethiopia, Tigray, Afar, Amhara, Oromia, Somali, Benishangul-Gumuz, S.N.N.P.R., Gambela, Harari, Dire Dawa, North West Tigray, Central Tigray, East Tigray, South Tigray, Western Tigray, North Gondar, South Gondar, North Woho, South Woho, North Shewa, East Gojjam, West Gojjam, Waghemra, Awi, Argoba, West Welega, East Welega, Illubabor, Jimma, West Shewa, East Shewa, Arsi, West Harerge, East Harerge, Bale, Borena, South West Shewa, Guji, Kelem, Horoguduru, West Arsi, Shinele, Jijiga, Liben, Metekel, Asosa, Kemashi, Mao Komo, Gurage, Hadiya, Kembata-Tembaro, Sidama, Gedio, Wolayita, South Omo, Sheka, Keffa, Gamo Gofa, Benchi-Maji, Yem Special Wereda, Amaro Special Wereda, Burji Special Wereda, Konso Special Wereda, Derashe Special Wereda, Dawro, Basketo Special Wereda, Konta Special Wereda, Silitie, Alaba Special Wereda, Gambela Region, Agnuwak, Nuware, Mezhenger, Itang Special, Harari, Dire Dawa,